Legislation to split New York into three regions is gaining support.

The "Divide New York Plan" would split New York State into three self-governing regions, New Amsterdam, Montauk and New York. Below is how the state would be divided by county:

New York Region: Bronx, Kings(Brooklyn) , New York(Manhattan), Queens and Richmond(Staten Island)

Montauk Region: Nassau, Rockland, Suffolk, and Westchester

New Amsterdam Region: Albany, Allegany, Broome, Cattaraugus, Cayuga, Chautauqua, Chemung, Chenango, Clinton, Columbia, Cortland, Delaware, Dutchess, Erie, Essex, Franklin, Fulton, Genesee, Greene, Hamilton, Herkimer, Jefferson, Lewis, Livingston, Madison, Monroe, Montgomery, Niagara, Oneida, Onondaga, Ontario, Orange, Orleans, Oswego, Otsego, Putnam, Rensselaer, Saratoga, Schenectady, Schoharie, Schuyler, Seneca, St Lawrence, Steuben, Sullivan, Tioga, Tompkins, Ulster, Warren, Washington, Wayne, Wyoming, and Yates.

"The boundaries of the regions are drawn to insure each has enough income to support itself plus local government and school districts are being freed from the many unfunded mandates that force local property taxes to be highest in the nation," the website for the plan states.

Each region would have an elected Regional Governor, Regional Lieutenant-Governor and Regional Secretary of State.

A bill to divide New York was introduced by Republican Assemblyman David DiPietro. A bill also reached the New York State Senate, sponsored by Republican Robert Ortt.

"Splitting the State of New York into separate states is preferable, but autonomous regions should be easier to achieve. Because by forming Regions not a new state or moving counties between states; Congress can be legally bypassed. All that is needed is an amendment to the state Constitution," the website says.

As of this writing, nearly 25,000 people have liked the Facebook page dedicated to split New York into three regions. 

Spot a typo? Let us know.

More From WEOK